Cambs Cup - Victory for Cambridge!

18th November 2003

City of Cambridge swimmers retained a firm grip on the prestigious Cambs Cup after a hard-fought competition at Parkside Pools at the weekend.

Supporters were kept on the edge of their seats as the lead changed hands throughout the gala, with arch-rivals Peterborough one point ahead of Cambridge at one stage. But the Cambridge squad was determined not to be beaten on home-turf and won through, finishing with strong relay performances to retain the title.

The gala opened well for Cambridge with wins for Nic Charlesworth and Chris Tidey, Charlesworth winning the 100m individual medley on 1.06.81. Tidey, who also coaches at Cambridge, was back in the water to show his swimmers how it’s done with a victory in the men’s open IM on 59.85.

Tidey also claimed a win in the 100m breastroke (1.06.51) with Charlesworth first in the 100m backstroke (1.07.08) and the 100m freestyle (59.33).
Lennard Lee also clocked up victories in the open 100m butterfly (1.00.93) and the 100m freestyle (56.32), while Rachel Loudain swept ahead to make it a double in both the 15/u and the open breastroke (1.18.9 and 1.16.57).

There were more first places for CoC from Gemma Hindson in the open 100m butterfly (1.06.36), Krissie Taylor and Ashley Morris in the 15 and under fly on (1.08.96 and 1.03.99), Josh Pettican in the 13/u 50m fly (30.34), Hannah Edwards in the 100m freestyle (1.02.62), Andy Thompson in the 11/u 50m fly (41.19).

There were good performances from the remainder of the squad, including Tilly Beeken, Cody Duncan, Storm Macauley Leak, George Crofts, Harper Staples, Tim Shipton, Catherine Mumford, Michael Fowler, Asta Magnusdottir, Michelle Page-Croft, Helen Struthers, Adam Oakman, James Eoin Gallagher, Victoria Way, Alex Graham, Alex Nixon, Harry Douglas, Laura McGowan, Ellis Winster and Miriam Crawford.

Head coach Tim Westlake said: “There were excellent swims from the entire quad and a really lively team atmosphere. They all showed great team spirit and commitment.”

Final points were: division one - City of Cambridge 293, City of Peterborough 287, Wisbech 189, St Ives and Chatteris 150 each; division two – St Neots 170, Huntingdon 159 and Ely 97.

click to see results

Back to reports list