Cambridge claims Dettori trophy


12th February 2003

The Frankie Dettori trophy is settling into a new home after Cambridge swimmers clinched the silverware in a decisive victory in Saturday’s gala at Newmarket.

The City of Cambridge Swimming Club romped home with 27 first places in the evening event to claim the trophy against host team Newmarket, Bottisham, Downham and Mildenhall.

The squad’s opening race set the scene for the rest of the gala with a first for Steve Buckley men’s open individual medley – the first set saw first places for Michael Whyatt, Amy Dive, Grant Gilmour, Tim Shipton, Andrew Diplock, Hannah Loudain, Alex Nixon, Michelle Paige-Croft and all four relay squads, as well as another top place for Steve Buckley.

And Cambridge stayed on track in the second set, with wins for Andy Thompson, Lizzie Harling, Tilly Beeken, Olivia Tenberg, James Smith, Charlotte Holt, Richard Sales, Storm Macauley Leak and Elizabeth Wilkinson. There was another first for Grant Gilmour and two top places for George Crofts, while the squadron relay again saw Cambridge in first place.

Final points were Cambridge 188, Mildenhall 143, Downham 111, Bottisham 99 and Newmarket 96.

Team coach Elaine Hill said: “The team was in high spirits for the gala and that was reflected in their performance. It was great fun to swim in the event – there was a really good atmosphere at the Newmarket pool, and the squad was extremely vocal in cheering on all swimmers, showing clearly their team support.”


Back to reports list