Cambridge Squad Dominates Trophy Battle


19th November 2002

Cambridge Squad Dominates Trophy Battle

The Cambs Cup is firmly in the hands of the City of Cambridge Swimming Club after its squad devastated the challenge from teams around the county to take the first division trophy.

Cambridge swimmers swept to victory with a massive 34 out of a possible 42 first places, dropping out of the top two only once – the team clocked up 327 points with its nearest competitor, Peterborough, trailing at 241. Wisbech finished third with 209, St Ives fourth on 178 and St Neots was fifth with 141 points in the event, held at Parkside Pools.

The city squad opened with a tremendous performance from Nicola Charlesworth in the ladies’ 100m individual medley – in the first of her three individual wins she touched almost five seconds ahead of her nearest rival. She was followed by Liam Wardley who clocked up a PB as the only swimmer to finish the men’s event in under a minute, again with a five second-plus lead. His was to be the first of 16 PBs for Cambridge swimmers.

Liam’s second PB – and another first place – came in the men’s 100m backstroke, and the freestyle relay saw his third win of the event, alongside team mates Chris Tidey, Matt Dandy and Jo Jewell. Chris added another two first places to the haul in the men’s 100m fly and breastroke with Matt winning the freestyle.

Liam’s sister Laura-Jayne touched first in the ladies’ open 100m butterfly – she later joined forces with Miriam Crawford, Helen Dawkins and Nic Charlesworth to take first in the ladies freestyle relay. Nic also stormed ahead in the ladies’ 100m backstroke and was the only swimmer to finish under 60 seconds in the ladies’ 100m freestyle event.

The squad never looked in danger of losing as 11-year-old Sophie McGowan PB’d in both her individual events, the 50m backstroke and freestyle, to take first place, while big sister Laura also achieved a win and her best ever time in the 13 and under 50m backstroke, with another first place in the freestyle.

Sophie was back on the blocks to anchor the 11/under freestyle relay team with Soraya Sassani, Storm Macauley Leak and Helen Struthers, finishing three seconds in front, while her sister set the pace for another first in the 13/under event with Charlotte Haines, Krissie Taylor and Rachel Loudain.

Soraya led by more than five seconds in the 11/under butterfly, and touched first with a PB in the same age breastroke event, while Krissie Taylor achieved a PB and a win in the 13/under breastroke and another first in the 50m fly.

Rachel Loudain won both the 15/under and the ladies’ open 100m breastroke events, with a PB in the latter and Miriam Crawford took first in the 15/under 100m butterfly with Hannah Edwards in front for the 100m backstroke in the same age group. The threesome teamed up with Helen Dawkins to take first in the girls 15/under freestyle relay by more than three seconds.

The boys saw Andy Thompson PB with a first place in the 11/under breastroke and Alexi Solomou repeat the feat in the same age 50m backstroke. Alexi and Andy proved an unbeatable combination with Harry Douglas and Callum Attfield as they surged ahead to take first in the 11/under freestyle relay. That victory was echoed by the 13/under boys relay squad of Steven Kirkup, Adam Oakman, James Gallagher and anchor Jeff Hill.

The PBs also went hand-in-hand with wins for Jeff Hill in the 13/under butterfly and freestyle, and James Gallagher in the 13/under 50m breastroke. Harry Douglas took second and a PB in the boys 11/under butterfly and freestyle events, while Ashley Morris clinched first in the 15/under butterfly and second in the 100m freestyle. Steve Kirkup achieved a PB and a second place in the 13/under backstroke while Andrew Diplock was second in the 15/under 100m breastroke and Daniel Cox was third in the 15/under event backstroke. The team of Ashley Morris, Daniel Cox, Andrew Diplock and Nathan Miller were second to the Peterborough squad in the 15/under freestyle relay.

The battle for Division Two was fought alongside Division One with swimmers from each competing in the same events. Chatteris Kingfishers lifted the trophy on 180 points, while Huntingdon Piranhas came in second on 153 and Ely with 63 points.


Back to reports list